How to Increase Happiness at Work

Photo courtesy of Flickr

Photo courtesy of Flickr

We all know the saying, “Happy wife, happy life.” I believe this is relevant to coworkers as well, considering that most of us see them more often than our own family.

While I was going to college, I worked at a natural food store. I absolutely loathed it. Everyone in that store was gossiping and looking for reasons to get someone else in trouble. What started out as a decent place to work quickly turned into a daily war zone.

Upon being hired, I had only good intentions; Make enough money at a simple job to get by until I graduated college and could land a real career in a big city. However, I befriended a woman whose ugly habits quickly rubbed off on me. She liked to talk about other coworkers as if it were the daily news. Anything I learned from her I would pass on to someone else.

“Did you hear so-and-so did such-and-such?” 

What I thought was simple chit chat was actually kindle for the fire. Pretty soon, everyone was involved in the gossip. Gossip then turned into ammunition. Coworkers were using it left and right to take people out to get them in trouble, or even worse, fired. I had become a person I was not proud of.

Imagine walking into work every single day knowing that someone is out to get you because they just don’t like you. It’s incredibly stressful, and I believe we can all relate on some level.

After I moved to Austin, TX and found a new job, I knew it was my chance to create a better me. I wanted to be happy and liked by every person I worked with. This, my friends, is how I believe you can do it:

1.)  Understand that you don’t know what everyone else has to go through

People have daily struggles. Don’t be one of them.

2.)  Mind your own business

The only information you need to be seeking is how to do your job right.

3.)  If someone says something negative about someone else, change the subject

The person telling the story will eventually understand that you aren’t comfortable talking bad about someone else. Anyone can respect that.

4.)  Bite your tongue

We all hear news that we have to get off our chest and tell someone else. Learn to suppress that feeling. Talking bad about another person, even to someone you can confide in, makes you look rude and untrustworthy.

5.)  Make an effort to acknowledge everyone you work with

Say good morning and goodnight. Ask how they have been lately and be on your way. These simple gestures will put smiles on people’s faces, which will associate you with good feelings.

6.)  Be a hard worker

Not only will this help you get far in life, it will also demand the respect of your peers.

7.)  Help out when you can

If you see a fellow employee struggling, offer your help. Someday the favor will be returned to you.

8.)  Try to bring out the best in everyone around you

Compliment others. Encourage them to do push themselves. Bringing out the best in others brings out the best in you too!

Following these simple rules will help to surround you with coworkers who care about your success. I am constantly astounded by the support I have received, simply because I am a nice person.

It’s never too late to turn a new leaf.

3 thoughts on “How to Increase Happiness at Work

  1. Great post! I agree with you whole heartedly and I think you really nailed it here. Not just in our work life but everywhere in life we should be this way. I too, like most of us, have been guilty of all of these things. It only makes life more stressful on yourself and others and when you feed the fire!

    Like

Share your opinion!