The Death of the Unpaid Internship Is Good for Everyone

This article really hit home for me. I moved to a city with a HUGE student loan debt hoping to find a career I could love. However, I could only find internships that wanted me to work 25-30+ hours a week unpaid. How could I ever afford rent, bills, gas, and a student loan debt? Not to mention, there wasn’t an internship with flexible enough hours to help me find a second job that would pay me for my labor. Additionally, I couldn’t find an internship worthy of my time that didn’t require previous experience. Basically, they wanted me to have experience before gaining experience. Okay, I am done ranting. I hope you find this article as interesting and true as I did!

Flavorwire

The instinctive reaction to Condé Nast’s decision to completely discontinue its internship program rather than deigning to pay its interns minimum wage has generally been along the lines of, “Screw you, you cheap bastards.” This isn’t entirely unfair, obviously — the fact that one of America’s biggest publishing companies can’t put its hand in its pocket to pay its entry-level staff isn’t exactly a great reflection on the company or its management. But if others follow suit, the whole sorry business might have at least one unexpected benefit: hastening the end of the unpaid internship system as a whole.

View original post 961 more words

Share your opinion!

