Follow Up

As promised, I am writing my next blog on the response I received from the job I was rejected for. Let’s start by taking a look at the email response:

Hi,

 

Thank you for following up. We ended up going in a direction with someone with more social media experience. My advice is that if you are looking to transition your career into the social and digital space I would begin by creating personal accounts on all social platforms and really familiarizing yourself with the space. I have also found that staying current on tech blogs like AdAge, Mashable, and TechCrunch really help to keep me informed on trends and innovations in the space.

 

Best of luck in your search,

______________________________

I was not surprised when I read; “We ended up going in a direction with someone with more social media experience.” This is an answer that many people hear when applying for jobs. Companies will not typically tell you exactly why they didn’t like you, as there are too many opportunities for litigation. Hence, queue the response, “We chose someone with more experience.”

Fortunately, this person was generous enough to give me advice on how to improve my skills:

My advice is that if you are looking to transition your career into the social and digital space I would begin by creating personal accounts on all social platforms and really familiarizing yourself with the space.

I thought that having business accounts on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, LinkedIn, and personal accounts on Instagram, Vine, and Pheed would be enough. After searching the web for all social media outlets, I realized I was far from having enough. There are far over a hundred sites when searching through the list provided on Wikipedia. Am I really expected to manage that many accounts in my free time??? As a full time employee and owner of an online retail store, I find this to be a HUGE challenge.

How many accounts do you manage? How much time do you dedicate to each platform?

The last chunk of the email states that I should spend more time reading blogs:

I have also found that staying current on tech blogs like AdAge, Mashable, and TechCrunch really help to keep me informed on trends and innovations in the space.

There was a time in the phone interview where I was asked if I followed any blogs, and if so, which ones. This question caught me off guard, as I don’t follow any blogs in particular. I could tell right off the bat that when I said I don’t follow any, I was in trouble. To be honest, I spend more time learning new trends on social media sites that often link to articles or blog posts that peak my interest while browsing.

My current job requires me to work full time on a computer. When I’m not at my job, I manage social networks and a website that I own. When I’m done with my work, the last thing I want to do is spend MORE time in front of a computer screen. However, when it comes to improving yourself, there should be no limits. Now, I not only read blogs, but write one as well!

Take all advice that is given to you from employers (no matter how ridiculous it seems). Dedication and self-improvement will only help you climb the mountain that stands in your way.

Share your opinion!

