“We regret to inform you…”

Image

Photo courtesy of Flickr

Re•gret – Verb

Feel sad, repentant, or disappointed over (something that has happened or been done, especially a loss or missed opportunity) -Oxford University Press, 2013

I’ve always disliked the use of the phrase, “We regret to inform you…” when advising a person that they were not selected for a job. Are they really saddened over my lost opportunity? Why add lies on top of the insult?

Ouch.

I recently was rejected for a job opportunity that I wanted badly. I studied for two weeks before my interview in hopes that it would help me ace any questions that came my way. Unfortunately, my hard work did not pay off. Three days after my interview, I received an automated rejection letter stating that my dreams would not be coming true with that company.

My first reaction was disbelief. I read the short email several times hoping that I had read it wrong the time before. Next, I experienced sadness. My eyes swelled with tears as the rejection settled in. As I wiped my cheeks dry, a thought hit me. Why not me? Soon my sadness turned to anger and frustration. Seriously, why not me?

I opened the rejection letter again to scan for an explanation that I knew wasn’t there. I wanted to know why someone else was picked. What did they have that I didn’t?

As a result, I pondered the idea of sending an email to ask the source directly.

Be Proactive

Several articles across the Internet state their opinions on the matter. Some say to go for it, while others claim it is in bad taste. I decided to go for it:

Hello ______,

I wanted to take the time to thank you for the opportunity to interview for the Social Media Coordinator position.

If you have the time, I would really appreciate any constructive feedback you have on how to further improve my skills for future opportunities at _______. I am extremely dedicated to my career, and any insight would be helpful.

Thank you!

Kind regards,

____________

As you can see, I went the positive route. Instead of asking why I didn’t get it, I asked what I needed to improve for future opportunities. In my opinion, I felt this tactic would increase my chances of getting a response. I did not want to put anyone on edge and possibly hurt my reputation.

The Waiting Game

I am still awaiting a response to my email (if I get one at all). Once received, I will be happy to post another blog discussing what I learned and what steps should be taken next.

Thank you for reading. Please share your thoughts below!

4 thoughts on ““We regret to inform you…”

  1. Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this website.
    It’s simple,yet effective. A lot of times it’s tough
    to get that “perfect balance” between usability and visual appearance.
    I must say that you’ve done a excellent job with
    this. In addition, the blog loads very fast for me on Chrome.
    Superb Blog!

    Like

  2. Hello would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re using?

    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most.
    Can you recommend a good internet hosting provider at a fair price?
    Thanks a lot, I appreciate it!

    Like

    • Hello! I am simply using a theme from WordPress as my webhost. As far as internet providers, those are priced based on the current area you live in, so I couldn’t give you a good idea. However, doing some reasearch online for local internet providers and reviews can really help you choose! Hope this helps and thank you for your feedback!

      Like

Share your opinion!

